Is Mazapán Vegan

Introduction

Yes and no. Mazapán, the Mexican variant of Marzipan, is a candy made with peanuts and sugar. An Italian candy, Marzipan is made using almonds and sugar. Only a slight difference between the two! Both contain only two ingredients, peanuts or almonds, and sugar. Neither contains any obvious animal-based ingredients. It is important to note that sugars are occasionally not vegan-friendly. For those that are newer to the vegan scene, bone char, in this case, comes from pig bones.

This treat is super simple to make at home. Don’t worry about whether sugar is vegan-friendly or not! Simply buy organic or vegan-friendly powdered sugar to make homemade Mazapán! Mazapán ingredients are only peanuts and powdered sugar and learning how to make mazapanes (plural of Mazapán) is as quick as putting the peanuts and powdered sugar in a food processor and voila! The easiest Mazapán recipe, or recipe in general, you’ll ever find! Hurray to Vegan Mazapán!

Where Did Mazapán Originate?

Mazapán, also known as Marzipan even with the difference in usage of peanuts and almonds between the two, stands for “March’s bread”. There are claims that it originated from two destinations–Italy and Spain. Italy claims that it originated in Sicily, while Spain claims it originated in Toledo. Mazapán itself is a Mexican variation of Marzipan, using peanuts instead of almonds to make the nutty candies. 

The consumption of Marzipan and Mazapán is closely associated with the celebration of Christmas. It is a widely popular treat! In Venezuela, mainly in the southern portion of the country, they make another variation of the candy by using cashews instead of peanuts or almonds. 

6 Vegan Powdered Sugar Brands For Mazapán

Wholesome, Organic Fair Trade Powdered Confectioners Sugar

The perfect replacement to conventional powder sugar, Wholesome’s Organic Fair-Trade Powdered Confectioners Sugar is gluten-free, vegan, non-GMO, USDA Organic, Kosher, and Fair Trade Certified! Their products are made with extreme care. Wholesome is focused on creating a positive impact on the farming communities that grow and harvest sugarcane used for their products.

You can find it here:

Florida Crystals, Organic Powdered Raw Sugar

Florida Crystals’ Organic Powdered Raw Sugar is USDA Organic, non-GMO, Vegan, and Kosher. This product is made from organic raw cane sugar. In the process of making this organic product, it is blended into a smooth powder perfect for frostings or, in this case, Mazapán. 

You can find it here:

Woodstock, Organic Powdered Sugar

Woodstock’s Organic Powdered Sugar is made by removing the molasses, pounding it into super fine particles with a hammermill, and then combining it with organic corn starch for a pure white powdered sugar. This product is USDA Organic, Kosher, Vegan, and Non-GMO. Add in your recipe for Mazapán or on top of homemade vegan french toast for a sweet, breakfast treat! 

You can find it here:

365 Everyday Value, Organic Powdered Sugar

365 Everyday Value’s Organic Powdered Sugar is Vegan, Kosher, and USDA Organic. It is made using only two ingredients: organic cane sugar and organic cornstarch. This brand uses ingredients that are safe and organic, without adding any unnecessary fillers or additives. Combine with peanuts to create your own homemade Mazapán!

You can find it here:

Thrive Market, Organic Powdered Sugar

Thrive Market is a great way to find vegan alternatives to foods that contain hidden animal-based ingredients or ingredients made using animal by-products. This Organic Powdered Sugar by Thrive Market is vegan-friendly and organic, perfect for making homemade Mazapán!

You can find it here:

Lakanto, Powdered Monkfruit Sweetener

Lakanto’s mission is to help others overcome their bad sugar habits or reliances by using healthier alternatives like, in this case, monk fruit! Monk fruit is a natural sweetener. It contains zero calories while being high in antioxidants called mogrosides. These antioxidants make monk fruit over 100x sweeter than regular sugar! What a great healthy alternative to processed sugar. Add into your homemade Mazapán or use for frostings and toppings for your favorite desserts!

You can find it here:

Top 4 Popular Mazapán Brands

De la Rosa Mazapan, Mexican Original Peanut Candy 

De la Rosa Mazapan, a Mexican Original Peanut Candy, is made from three ingredients: crushed peanuts, sugar, and artificial flavoring. It does not have any animal-based ingredients, though the sugar can’t be verified as vegan-friendly or not. It is up to the individual on whether they wish to consume this product knowing that the sugar may or may not be made using bone char. 

You can find it here:

Nueva Imagen, Mazapan Azteca Peanut Candy 

Nueva Imagen, Mazapan Azteca Peanut Candy, is made from three ingredients: peanuts, sugar, and artificial flavoring. It does not have any animal-based ingredients, though the sugar can’t be verified as vegan-friendly or not. It is up to the individual on whether they wish to consume this product knowing that the sugar may or may not be made using bone char. 

You can find it here:

Castillo de Jÿona, Turrón Mazapán Fruta Castillo de Jijona

This take on Mazapán contains small chunks of fruit to add a sweet fruity taste to each peanut-y bite! Castillo de Jÿona’s Turrón Mazapán Fruta Castillo de Jijona is available on Amazon and is imported from Spain. This product is not verified as vegan-friendly. It is up to the individual on whether they wish to consume this product knowing that the sugar may or may not be made using bone char.

You can find it here:

Delaviuda, Mazapán Shapes Turron

Delaviuda’s Mazapán Shapes Turron is a fresh and unrivaled twist on Mazapán. That is to say, it comes in different shapes and sizes while still retaining the signature Mazapán taste and texture. This product is not verified as vegan-friendly. That is to say, it is up to the individual on whether they wish to consume this product knowing that the sugar may or may not be made using bone char.

You can find it here:

Conclusion

Did you find this article informative? Make sure to leave a comment below to tell us what you think or if you have any questions. Don’t forget to share this informative article on answering the question, “Is Mazapán Vegan?”. Tag us on social media showing your take on Mazapán and don’t forget to tell us which vegan powdered sugar recommended brands you used! 

Leave a Comment