Last Updated on October 30, 2021 by Guillermina
For the love of bagels! Noah’s New York Bagels is a California-based chain known for their delicious New York-style bagels. We’re taking a bite into whether or not Noah’s Bagels and their other offerings are vegan.
What Are Noah’s New York Bagels?
As most bagels are, Noah’s Bagels were inspired by a proper New York-style bagel. The brand prides itself on using quality ingredients, such as cage-free eggs and dough made from simple ingredients. They guarantee a fresh-baked bagel and food you “feel good about eating”.
This chain also serves coffee, a true companion to a bagel breakfast. Noah’s Bagels prides themselves on their small-batch coffee and espresso beans, all of which are 100% Rainforest Alliance Certified.
Fresh baked bagels, bagel sandwiches, and a full coffee bar are all parts of Noah’s offerings. They also offer brunch boxes, which include everything you need for hosting the best meal of the day. Even if bagels aren’t your thing, they also have a small assortment of pastries.
Dine-in, takeout, delivery, catering – you name it, Noah’s New York Bagels does it. Their mobile app makes it easier to order ahead, so your order will be ready if you’re in a rush. Not to mention the curbside pick-up feature that has been key during the pandemic.
The Story Behind The Bagel
In 1989, a native New Yorker made the move to the West coast. There was only one thing missing – New York bagels. With that, Noah’s New York Bagels was born and remains California-based.
As they’ve grown, Noah’s has now been acquired by Panera Brands in 2021. Yep, that’s right – the same company that owns Panera Bread. In addition to Noah’s, Panera Brands also own Einstein Bro’s and Caribou Coffee.
Noah’s Bagels Ingredients
While each flavor of bagel will have unique ingredients, Noah’s bagels start with a dough made with five simple ingredients: flour, water, brown sugar, salt, and yeast. Unfortunately, Noah’s Bagels does not disclose ingredients lists on their website. They do provide allergens, which helps determine which bagels should be vegan.
Noah’s Bagels Nutrition
Keeping track of your calories? Noah’s Bagels shares the nutrition information and allergens for each of their menu items. Bagels range from 250-450 calories each, with additional 40-240 calories for a serving of spreads.
Their bagels are typically low in fat and higher in carbohydrates. Noah’s Bagels do have 9-12 g of protein alone, which is higher than many breads. Protein is important during any meal of the day to stay full and slow the breakdown of carbs.
Are Noah’s Bagels Vegan?
Vegans in California, you’re in luck! There’s a large variety of vegan bagels at Noah’s New York Bagels, including:
- Ancient Grain
- Chocolate Chip
- Cinnamon Raisin
- French Toast
- Peppercorn Potato
- Protein Power Bagel
- Sesame Seed
- Whole Wheat Sesame
If you’re not in the mood for a bagel, Noah’s still has a something for you. There are even a couple specialty breads that are vegan, as well. The Apple Cinnamon and the Potato Roll are two comforting options that can satisfy your cravings.
If you’re looking for a vegan lunch, Noah’s may not be the best place to stop. Only one lunch menu item is vegan, with a modification. Order the Hummus Veg Out without the Garden Veggie Shmear and you’re golden.
It can be tricky to find a restaurant suitable for both vegan and non-vegan eaters. Despite limited vegan menu items, Noah’s New York Bagels is a restaurant that would be a good stop for meat eaters and vegans, alike.
What About The Spreads, Sauces, And Toppings?
Unfortunately, there aren’t any vegan cream cheese options at Noah’s quite yet. However, there are currently a few vegan-friendly offerings:
- Natural Peanut Butter
- Natural Strawberry Jelly
- Roasted Tomato Salsa
Other Vegan Items At Noah’s Bagels
Grab & go items can be helpful to pick up in a pinch. Noah’s Bagels has a few items ready for on-the-go vegans, including:
- Fruit cup
- Original and BBQ Kettle Chips
- Cinnamon Twist
Potential Non-Vegan Ingredients
Unfortunately, Noah’s Bagel’s does not have the full ingredients list available. This makes it tricky to determine if these seemingly delicious bagels are truly vegan. The use of brown sugar is one ingredient to flag, especially since it’s one Noah’s Bagels core ingredients.
Brown sugar is generally by adding molasses to refined cane sugar. The concern here is the processing of refined cane sugar, which includes the use of animal bone char. Some vegans find this practice unethical and will not allow it in their diets.
The vegan-friendly spreads listed above may also contain sources of refined cane sugar or other non-vegan ingredients. Noah’s Bagel’s prides themselves on creating food you “feel good about eating”, but that doesn’t seem to extend to 100% vegan. Their menu doesn’t highlight vegan-friendly items or include plant-based alternatives to their dairy-intensive schmears.
Are Noah’s New York Bagels Healthy?
In my opinion, bagels are one of the best forms of bread. With that being said, there are some flavors can be healthier than others. To find the best bagel to meet your definition of healthy, take a look at Noah’s Bagels nutrition information.
If getting some extra protein is a priority, Noah’s Bagels has a few options. Their Protein Power Bagel is vegan friendly and has 12 g of protein. Additionally, bagels with nuts and seeds may are more likely to have extra protein compared to a plain bagel.
Are Noah’s Bagels Gluten-Free?
At this time, Noah’s New York Bagels do not have any gluten-free bagels. If you’re following a gluten-free diet, there isn’t much for you to eat at Noah’s Bagels. Even if they started offering gluten-free bagels, beware if you have a severe gluten intolerance. The risk of cross-contamination between regular and gluten-free bagels is challenging to prevent in a food establishment.
California bagel lovers, next time you’re craving a classic New York bagel you know where to stop. Noah’s New York Bagels are mostly vegan with a range of flavors that keep it interesting. Have you been to Noah’s New York Bagels? Leave your thoughts in the comments below!
Read moe about Are Wendys Fries Vegan? Plus 5 Vegan Menu Items